How to Embrace Healthy Living ( A Lifelong Journey)

Jebichii Kimulwo
2 min readMar 8, 2021
Source: Unsplash

We all struggle to live a healthy life, we get it right sometimes and sometimes we get it all wrong. Do you feel guilty when you get it wrong? I do too

In this article, I will share some of the lessons I have learned so far.

Benefits of Healthy Living

The best gift you can give yourself is a healthy you. Being healthy has so many benefits; some of the benefits include

  • Losing weight.
  • Looking good
  • Feeling good
  • Improved energy levels
  • Sleeping better
  • Improved mental wellbeing
  • Improved moods
  • increased productivity

Benefits of Healthy Living

Probably you agree with me that healthy living is beneficial. Probably you have experienced this before and maybe you do not know where to start.

There is so much information and definitions of healthy lifestyles. This will leave you so confused, I have also gotten so confused. But this is what has worked for me

  1. Never give up. To me, a healthy lifestyle is beyond diet and exercise, it is choosing to make healthy decisions daily, rising even when you fall, and picking up your pieces the next day.
  2. Changing your mindset. Healthy living starts with a mindset of knowing and understanding why you want to live healthily. Making lifestyle decisions rather than choosing steps that result in quick weight loss than falling back to an old routine.
  3. Forgiving to yourself. Being gracious to oneself is very important because a guilty conscience will cause you to give up on your journey.
  4. Just start. Most importantly, start even when you lack all the tools you need because you learn along your journey and then one day, you will wake up happier, lighter and healthier.
Source: Unsplash

My health journey started with the goal of weight loss. I embarked on a keto diet that saw me lose 14 kg. However, I gained back all the weight I lost plus some more when I quit.

Still, I came out with so many lessons and experiences. I now know that my body thrives on a low carbohydrate diet, I feel good, have mental clarity, sleep better, my cravings go away and my moods are stable.

Final Word

I am not perfect, I mess up so many times, but I have learned to be gracious to myself, I have learned to pick up my pieces when I fall, and most importantly, I understand that this is a lifelong journey. So occasionally, I eat that cake without guilt because life is too short not to eat cake!

--

--

Jebichii Kimulwo

I am a blog writer and I love to write articles that bring out the best in people